Ottawa Real Estate Board’s 2023 President and Board of Directors

January 17, 2023

Members of the Ottawa Real Estate Board (OREB) are welcoming a new Board of Directors slate who have been elected to represent more than 3,900 REALTORS® for 2023.

The new board will be comprised of 2023 President Ken Dekker, Past President Penny Torontow, President-Elect Curtis Fillier, and Vice-President Paul Czan. Joining them are directors Fred Crouch, Tami Eades, Laura Finlay, Eric Kalbfleisch, Michael Lewicki, Tony McDermott, Jake Prescott, Matt Richling and Ralph Shaw.

“No matter what’s happening in the market, there are consumers who need to buy or sell a home, rent a property, or buy, lease or sell a commercial space or business,” says President Ken Dekker. “And now more than ever, consumers need an experienced and expert REALTOR® to help them navigate these fluctuating markets. I’m excited to work with OREB to be the leading authority on real estate matters and represent our dynamic real estate professionals. It also comes with great responsibility to advocate for better consumer protections, enhanced regulatory oversight and elevated standards for the profession.”

Ken Dekker, 2023 OREB President

A real estate professional for nearly 30 years, Ken founded his own brokerage and is a published author. Ken has been volunteering with OREB since 2008, lending his time and enthusiasm to the board of directors and several committees including arbitration, government and community relations, and finance and audit.

“REALTORS® are leaders in our community and this year will be pivotal,” says Ken. “Another element of our consumer advocacy efforts is driving better housing policy. Ottawa has a housing crisis. We must be loud, engaged and innovative about the chronic insufficiency of supply, affordability and sustainability. I look forward to working with and supporting our Members as we help build a better community for all.”

Back row: Paul Czan, Tami Eades, Fred Crouch, Michael Lewicki, Eric Kalbfleisch
Middle row: Jake Prescott, Laura Finlay, Ralph Shaw, Tony McDermott, Matt Richling
Front row: Curtis Fillier, Ken Dekker, Penny Torontow